Queensland’s Government, governance and policy

Queensland is part of a federation of the states and territories that form the Commonwealth of Australia. The Queensland State Government, like that of Australia, is modelled on the British Westminster system. The State Parliament retains powers over all matters other than those granted to the Australian Government under the Constitution. State powers include control over education, public health, police and justice, transport, roads and railways, industry, mining and agriculture, public works, ports, forestry, electricity, gas, and water supply and irrigation.

Government relationships

The Australian Government provides support to all Australian states and territories