QTC Board

Board members are appointed by the Governor-in-Council, pursuant to section 10(2) of the Queensland Treasury Corporation Act 1988 on the recommendation of the Treasurer and in consultation with the Under Treasurer. Members are chosen on their ability and commitment to contribute to QTC’s performance and achievement of its stated objectives.

Gerard Bradley

BComm, Dip Adv Acc , FCA, FCPA, FAICD, FIML


10 May 2012 – 30 June 2022

Board committees

  • Member, Human Resources Committee
  • Member, Funding and Markets Committee

Prior to his appointment as the Chair of QTC’s Board, Mr Bradley was the Under Treasurer and Under Secretary of the Queensland Treasury Department, a position he held from 1998 to 2012. He was also a QTC Board member from 2000-2007.

Mr Bradley has extensive experience in public sector finance gained in both the Queensland and South Australian treasury departments. He was Under Treasurer of the South Australian Department of Treasury and Finance from 1996 to 1998, and of Queensland’s Treasury Department from 1995 to 1996. Mr Bradley held various positions in Queensland Treasury from 1976 to 1995, with responsibility for the preparation and management of the State Budget and the fiscal and economic development of Queensland.

He is currently a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of Queensland Treasury Holdings Pty Ltd and related companies, and a Non-Executive Director of Star Entertainment Group Ltd, Pinnacle Investment Management Group Limited and the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust, a Member of the Queensland regional selection committee for Churchill fellowships, and a Director of the Pinnacle Charitable Foundation and the Pinnacle Compliance Committee.

Leon Allen

BA (Hum), Grad Dip Public Policy, MAICD

Board committees

  • Member, Funding and Markets Committee

Leon Allen was appointed Under Treasurer of Queensland Treasury in September 2021. He joined as Deputy Under Treasurer, Queensland Treasury in May 2020 with responsibility for economic, fiscal and commercial policy.

Mr Allen’s appointment came after 13 years with the Institutional Banking and Markets division of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia where he held senior leadership positions both domestically and internationally.

Mr Allen’s resume also includes periods with the Australian Government’s Department of Finance, Queensland Treasury and Ergon Energy. In addition to his role on the QTC Capital Markets Board, Mr Allen is a member of the State Investment Advisory Board.

Neville Ide

BBus( Acctg), MComm ( Acctg and Fin) , FCPA, FAICD

Board committees

  • Member, Risk and Audit Committee
  • Member, Funding and Markets Committee

Neville Ide has more than 40 years’ experience in finance and treasury management having held executive roles in the government, finance and banking sectors, including Queensland Treasury Corporation for 12 years and as Group Treasurer at Suncorp Metway Limited.

His industry knowledge and experience covers banking, insurance, infrastructure and corporate treasury management, including debt and equity capital markets, balance sheet structuring and financial risk management.

Mr Ide has served as a non-executive director on a number of public and private company boards since 2006, including appointments to Queensland Motorways Limited, RACQ Insurance, RACQ Bank, Retech Technology Limited, SunWater Limited, and as a previous QTC Board member. He is currently a director of Qbank Limited.

Anne Parkin

B Science (Hons), Dip. Ed, MBA, MAICD, F FIN

Board committees

  • Member, Risk and Audit Committee
  • Member, Human Resources Committee

Anne Parkin has more than 25 years’ of international management and board level experience across Asia-Pacific banking and financial services.

Ms Parkin has held diverse leadership roles in domestic and global broking and banking, superannuation administration, retail management and education in both the public and private sectors. At an executive level, she has experience operating in highly regulated businesses including banking with Credit Suisse and UBS, and in Australian superannuation.

Ms Parkin is the former chair of a start up company and a former non-executive director of both Credit Suisse Securities in Malaysia and Credit Suisse Securities Philippines. She was also the executive director of the Hong Kong Control Committee responsible for oversight of operational risk for Credit Suisse Hong Kong and its affiliates, and the executive in charge of operational matters with local regulators, including the Hong Kong Monetary Authority and Hong Kong Securities & Futures Commission.

Karen Smith-Pomeroy

ADIP (Accounting), GAICD, FIPA, FFIN

Board committees

  • Chair, Risk and Audit Committee
  • Member, Human Resources Committee

Karen Smith-Pomeroy is an experienced financial services senior executive with a specialty in risk and governance.

She held senior executive roles with Suncorp Group Limited from 1997 to 2014, including Chief Risk Officer Suncorp Bank from 2009 to 2013, and Executive Director, Suncorp Group subsidiary entities from 2009 to 2014. She has also held positions on a number of Boards and committees including CS Energy Limited and Tarong Energy Corporation Limited.

Karen is currently Chair of National Affordable Housing Consortium Limited and the Regional Investment Corporation, and a Non-Executive Director of Stanwell Corporation Limited, InFocus Wealth Management Limited, Infigen Energy Limited and Kina Securities Limited. She is also an Independent Audit Committee Chair of the Queensland Department of Local Government, Racing and Multicultural Affairs; and South Bank Corporation.

Jim Stening

Dip Fin Serv, FAICD

Board committees

  • Chair, Funding and Markets Committee

Jim Stening has more than 30 years’ experience in financial markets in the fixed income asset class, including hands-on trading and investing in Australian and global capital markets.

Mr Stening has extensive experience in debt markets, business development, executive management and corporate governance across a diverse range of economic cycles. He has held senior roles at NAB, Merrill Lynch and Banco Santander.

Mr Stening is the founder and Managing Director of FIIG Securities Limited, Australia’s largest specialist fixed-income firm and a Non-Executive Director of related companies, and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Rosemary Vilgan

B.Bus, Dip Supn Mgt, FAICD, FASFA

Board committees

  • Chair, Human Resources Committee

Rosemary Vilgan is an experienced non-executive director, with specific expertise in financial services and business leadership and transformation. She was the Chief Executive of QSuper, a global financial services business with $90 billion in accounts, from 1998 until 2015.

She is currently the Chairperson of the Commonwealth Bank Group Staff Superannuation Fund, a Member of the Board of the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation and a Member of the Cambooya Investment Committee. Ms Vilgan’s former roles include Chairperson of the Federal Government’s Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission, a member of the Board of the Children’s Hospital Foundation (Qld) and a Queensland Council member of AICD. She is a former Councillor, Deputy Chancellor and Chairperson of the Audit and Risk Committee at Queensland University of Technology (QUT), and a former director and Chair of the Board of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia (ASFA).

In 2013, Ms Vilgan was named the Telstra Australian Businesswoman of the Year. She holds qualifications in business and superannuation and is a Fellow of both AICD and ASFA and a Member of Chief Executive Women.